Helpful agents are standing by: (312) 470-6943
Press play below to listen to our audio commercial:

Finding the Answers to Questions Related to Illinois Auto Insurance Requirements and Their Penalties

According to the state law, when you sign for your vehicle registration application, you must also confirm that your car will be insured and at all times you need to carry the proof of insurance in the vehicle. One of the most frequently asked questions is about the requirements for Illinois auto insurance.  Many states accept bonds and cash instead of liability policy from the drivers.

But in Illinois you have to prove your financial responsibility by liability insurance. The state will not know if you have insurance covered. For this you have to provide your insurance card. If you are involved in an accident or caught for traffic violation you have to produce proof that you’re insured. The secretary of state’s office will check on drivers for an insurance requirement by randomly sending letters for verification of insurance status. If you receive the letter, you have to provide the required documents within 30 days of verification date.

The requirements are that all motor vehicles must be insured. If you are operating a vehicle in the state of Illinois you must have a minimum amount of coverage as specified by the law. The minimum coverage amounts are 15,000 for property damage, $20,000 for death or injuries of a single person and $40,000 for more than a single person. You must get insurance at the time of your vehicle registration. If you are found to be uninsured you can receive a traffic ticket. They may also suspend the license plate and a fine of $500 for driving without insurance. You can reinstall the license plates after paying $100 fine and show the proof of insurance, but for the second offense you are eligible to reinstall your license plates only after four months. When your license plates are suspended, you can still operate other cars if they are insured.

In the state of Illinois the minimum insurance requirement is 20/40/15.The first and second number is about the bodily injuries liability limits and the last number is the liability limit of liability on property damage. In 20/40/15 the first two numbers mean if a person is injured in any accident he can receive a maximum up to 25,000 dollars with 50,000 dollars allowed for an accident. The number at the end is the entire coverage for the property damage by the accident.

Many experts recommend much more coverage than specified above and many types of coverage are available that will help protect your vehicle. Without this protection, accidents followed by the lawsuits can be very destructive financially. But the cost of this particular protection will be a problem for teenage and young drivers. The easy way is to compare and shop.

To get the free quotes for Illinois auto insurance, enter your zip code, compare rates and save more money.