Helpful agents are standing by: (312) 470-6943
Press play below to listen to our audio commercial:

DWI And DUI Laws In The State Of Illinois And Their Corresponding Penalties

When a driver is convicted of DUI, points will be added to the driving record. For the first offense under DUI in Illinois, the license will be suspended for 6 months but after 30 days of suspension, the driver can drive the vehicle with a breath alcohol ignition interlock device installed in his car. For the first offense, the fine will be up to $2,500 and a year of imprisonment is possible. The driver has to undergo some educational program and drug/alcohol evaluation. For the second offense, license will be suspended for a year and fine will be up to $2,500. In addition to this, the person will be imprisoned for a mandatory 5 days and up to a year and has to complete educational program and drug evaluation. The breath alcohol ignition interlock device (BAIID) must be installed for 12 months. Along with this the vehicle registration will also be suspended.

For the third offense, the fine goes up to $25,000 and it is possible that the person will be imprisoned for 3 to 5 years and can get a minimum of 10 years and must install the BAIID for 12 months for reinstatement of drivers license along with drug/alcohol remedial educational program and drug/alcohol evaluation. For the fourth offense, the license revocation is for life  with penalties up to $25,000, 3 to 7 years imprisonment and  vehicle registration suspension .For the fifth Illinois DUI conviction, driving will automatically be suspended for one year and monitored device driving permit will not be applicable. The convicted person can be imprisoned for up to 15 years  with driving  license revoked for life, has to  complete drug remedial education program and undergo alcohol or drug evaluation.

For the sixth and subsequent convictions for DUI fines in Illinois are up to $25,000 and 6 to 30 years of imprisonment, driver’s license will be revoked for life, a one year suspension of driving and there will be no driving permit with monitoring devices. In Illinois, if a person refuses to take a chemical test of urine, blood or breath test, their license will be suspended or revoked.

For the first test refusal offense the driving license will be automatically suspended for 12 months and after 30 days of suspension the driver can drive the vehicle with monitoring devices installed. For second and subsequent charges the license will be automatically suspended for 3 years and driving with monitoring device will not be allowed.

Any person between the age 15 and 21 can have their driving  privileges suspended if they are trying to or purchased any intoxicated liquors or being visibly intoxicated. In addition points will be added to the driving record of a conviction.

Convicted for DUI? Need to know the insurance premiums? Enter the zip code and get free auto insurance quotes in Illinois.